top of page

Iglesia Menonita Santa Marta


Early in the morning, Carlos our guide came for Marlene and I at Jenny’s house. We were on our way to the Santa Marta neighborhood. A part of the city completely different, a common tourist would not see this side or aspect of the city. As we made our way to this neighborhood, I saw not only poverty, but prisons established right across from military bases. It was an impressive image.

Once at church everything went great. The pastor of the church—a female pastor (an amazing person), welcomed us; the congregation was mostly composed of kids. After the service we enjoyed a delicious dish of rice with noodles and a warm chocolate with bread. The kids invited us to play soccer in the streets, where I burst my slacks. It was a fun experience.

Once back at Jenny’s house Marlene and I chatted and decided to visit the “antique swat-meet”. We took a cab. Every time I get on a car here I try to put my seatbelt on. Is not required in Colombia, only for front passengers. Anyways, we saw very interesting items at the antique swat-meet, then walked to nearby gift shops. Vendors tried guessing our citizenships but could not guessed. Most though I was from Peru, Guatemala etc. We then crossed the historic neighborhood of Candelaria making our way to the “Plaza Bolivar”. After hours of walking and observing parts of Bogota, we took a cab back home. We finished the night eating a delicious dinner at a nearby Crepes & Waffles.

It was a wonderful day!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page